Alarza and Jerzyk claim Gold at Banyoles European Cup

Alarza and Jerzyk claim Gold at Banyoles European Cup

By David Peddie on 05/05/13 at 10:52 pm

Spanish athletes delighted the home crowd at Banyoles as they claimed four out of six podium places at the ITU Premium European Cup race.

Fernando Alarza maintained his brilliant start to 2013, as he secured his second European Cup victory of the season in the Elite Men’s race. It came down to the final run as five athletes remained in contention approaching the final laps, but Alarza’s pace saw him streak ahead for gold.

A group of five were matching each other stride for stride in the opening exchanges of the run but Alraza made his break on the second lap.

Frenchman Aurelien Lebrun finished behind Alarza for only his second ever podium in an European race and Vicente Hernandez cemented Spanish success with a bronze medal, mirroring Alarza’s finishes following his third place in Quarteira.


In the Women’s race, Agnieszka Jerzyk (POL)got her 2013 season off to the perfect start with victory. This was Jerzyk’s first International race of the year and she put in a fantastic display to win her first European Cup since 2011 in Karlovy Vary.

On the final lap she trailed Spanish duo Murua and Garrido but she found her rhythm and purposely strode to victory in the final stages.

Spain’s success continued with Ainhoa Murua and Tamara Gomez Garrido claiming the remaining podium positions to bring their medal total to four. Garrido will be particularly pleased as this is her first career podium.

Picture Credit: Yeray Menéndez / Bdream

Elite Men

1. Fernando Alarza ESP ES 01:45:21
2. Aurélien Lebrun FRA FR 01:45:38
3. Vicente Hernandez ESP ES 01:45:52
4. Pierre Le Corre FRA FR 01:46:04
5. Pedro Mendes POR PT 01:46:14
6. Uxio Abuin Ares ESP ES 01:46:30
7. Danylo Sapunov UKR UA 01:46:43
8. Ricardo Hernandez Marrero ESP ES 01:46:59
9. Julien Pousson FRA FR 01:47:09
10. Rostislav Pevtsov AZE AZ 01:47:16

Elite Women

1. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL PL 01:57:20
2. Ainhoa Murua Zubizarreta ESP ES 01:57:56
3. Tamara Gomez Garrido ESP ES 01:58:04
4. Katrien Verstuyft BEL BE 01:58:30
5. Irina Abysova RUS RU 01:58:36
6. Zsófia Kovács HUN HU 01:58:57
7. Mariya Shorets RUS RU 01:59:01
8. Emmie Charayron FRA FR 01:59:16
9. Charlotte Bonin ITA IT 01:59:20
10. Anne Tabarant FRA FR 01:59:24

Find more details about this event - 2013 Banyoles ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup